In the Picture

Max Regenberg : 1978-1985

Already in high school Max Regenberg was studying with professionals, learning about lenses, apertures, f-stops, developers, and light — the DNA of photochemical reaction: how to recognize and capture it; how to light and shoot for magazines and advertisements, including what’s called a “pack shot,” the advertising world’s still-lifes of cereal boxes, perfume bottles, shavers, soaps, burgers, etc. All that required techniques for shooting and developing, for caressing details, and for controlling the all-over effects of a print that might require different exposures across the surface. He studied photography during a time of worldwide technological, commercial, and domestic evolution. And yet with what may have been anxious amazement, Max Regenberg saw ads everywhere and realized they were saturating the environment and people’s minds, and infiltrating his chosen medium as if to usurp it.

Commercial images thrived as succubus and incubus, seducer and corrupter, in magazines, at the movies, on television, and in the streets; they were both snake and snake charmer, and they always purported something. So, Max Regenberg — a baby boomer, a child of television, a circumstantial postmodernist, and a member of the generation that would transform photography into a museum art — reacted. Starting in the late 1970s, among the things he photographed were billboards, which he came across traveling in Germany, France, Canada, and the United States. The billboards were the same everywhere, their languages might have been different but the symbols and signs were the same photographic algebra.  He catalogued them in his carefully studied manner, as might an anthropologist or a person in exile, but in stark, black-and-white photographs.  

Billboards are like publicly sanctioned graffiti — large, privately paid for, mass-produced signage, which, to many eyes, defile the rental space they occupy. A billboard’s message is conveyed in an “eye-catcher,” a central image or statement, made in a highly calculated but specifically exaggerated style, which calls attention to a product, but without the slightest hint of real promise from such a product, whose only semblance to truth lay in the controlled definition of its selected traits, such as the minty menthol of a Kool filter-tip, the toughness of a Volvo in a crash test, the gentleness of a soap, or the cut of the new designer jeans. In his book, The Image, Daniel Boorstin called advertising’s finely tuned half-truths and manufactured experiences, “pseudo-events.” Max Regenberg saw billboards as the emblems of retail commerce’s pseudo-truths but also as the commercial world’s conceptual art — compositions designed to get into peoples’ minds and, unlike art, into pockets. 

Max Regenberg wasn’t trying to be critical, he wanted to capture on film the Zeitgeist’s public sponsorship of cars, cigarettes, Xerox machines, designer jeans (Brooke Shields for Calvin Klein), lingerie (Austria’s famous Palmer’s lingerie). He photographed ads for Polish solidarity, a Honda motorcycle, an AGFA camera, Fuji film; ads with likenesses of paintings by Roy Lichtenstein and David Hockney; and a billboard asking Who Puts You in the Picture? This was the question he suggestively asked in the photographs he produced. 

Quite a number of his billboards were for Marlboro cigarettes, a brand then in ascendance, whose cowboys, unknown to him at the time, were currently being reshot and collected in slides by New York artist Richard Prince. Prince altered the ads by cropping out the text portion in his viewfinder in order to focus on the icon, a supposedly real cowboy smoking a filter-tipped cigarette, which, until then, was smoked by women, not a macho cowboy. Prince altered the context of the ad in order, as he said, to “make the familiar look strange,” as if to put the eye-catcher in quotes — as if to call attention to the dubious reality that ads projected. Which wasn’t necessarily the case, as only the irony counted.

Max Regenberg’s memory images depicted a world changed by commerce, a world whose distant past was shown on television programs like “Robin Hood” and “Zorro,” which were interrupted by ads that tried to get people to think about today’s commercial products. His pictures emanated a topical strangeness, different from Prince’s “girls looking in the same direction,” or “hands with watches,” or “cowboys.” Max Regenberg photographed billboards that were rising up like weeds in market capitalism’s public landscape — an environment that, in less than a century, had been completely transformed by cars — the second most common items in his pictures.

Cars created roads, which gave reason and direction to maps, sidewalks, plumbing, electricity, all of which led people out of cities to suburbs, which included the “edge cities” of cheap vernacular architecture, industrial parks, car dealerships, strip malls, fast food restaurants, appliance dealers, and billboards — the comings and goings in commerce’s triumph over nature. Photography was its representative art form. Max Regenberg photographed its signage.

In 1975, a slow-to-break-ground group exhibition called “The New Topographics: Photographs of a Man-Altered Landscape” opened at the George Eastman House (Kodak’s founder) in Rochester, New York. Among the photographers were Robert Adams, Lewis Baltz, Bernd and Hilla Becher, Nicholas Nixon, and Steven Shore. Except for Steven Shore’s, all the photographs were black-and-white. The choice of photographers was meant to demonstrate the effects of the human exodus from cities across the West. The exhibition was generally disliked for the banal pictures of a domesticated landscape to which most people were comfortably inured and failed to see their value in such a hallowed hall of photography.

Just two years later, in September 1977, around the time Max Regenberg was starting to make these photographs, a now-famous exhibition called “Pictures” was held at a nonprofit gallery in New York City called Artists Space, whose director, Helene Winer, would become the co-proprietor, circa 1980, of the urbanely named gallery Metro Pictures. Five artists were presented: Troy Brauntauch, Jack Goldstein, Sherrie Levine, Robert Longo, and Philip Smith. In the accompanying catalog essay, Douglas Crimp discussed an art that reflected a world in which “experience is governed by pictures,” which are paradoxically “present and remote,” and, because they were everywhere but commercial, how “firsthand experience begins to retreat, to seem more and more trivial.” The “Pictures” show didn’t draw as much attention then as it would in the coming years. But it came to be the signal of a rise in photography-oriented art as well as a rupture in traditional photography, especially when those artists and others began showing photography-based art in the galleries, as if it were a new medium alongside painting and sculpture.

The pictures generation artists, unlike the New Topographics photographers, “used” photographs and photographic representations, sometimes simply copies of magazine pictures. Professional labs developed their works. Sherrie Levine signed exact copies of Walker Evans photographs; Cindy Sherman made film stills of pretend movies in which she was the star; Richard Prince photographed magazine ads. They changed art by incorporating photography into a contemporary art world that thrived commercially and financially on painting and sculpture, even though conceptual art was significant element in its intellectual life. Nevertheless, these artists brought photography from a secondary status. That was new. No one knew that in 1978. (Leo Castelli showed Lewis Baltz in his separate gallery, Castelli Graphics, which opened in 1969 and where he showed exactly reproducible works — prints and multiples — of which photography had the same status and no better.) And yet the pictures generation artists, including artist/photographers like Max Regenberg, recognized an active change from handmade representation to technology-based art. (A fleshed out “Pictures Generation: 1974–1984” exhibition at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, in 2009, included Prince, Cindy Sherman, Matt Mullican, among many others.)

Max Regenberg beheld this change and made it visible in the marble sheen of his black-and-white photographs. No one back then perceived such pictures as having the status of painting. And yet such works accurately projected the confusion that occurred between artifice and realism in life and advertising and art. Which is what “pictures” artists directly or indirectly revealed.

In Max Regenberg’s pictures one class of representation — commercial billboards — is presented as a subset of serious photography. The status of the billboard isn’t raised, but merely presented as an emblem of urban experience, an accepted, if irritating, function of market commerce’s privately financed public communication. If billboards could talk they’d cry out like street hawkers, demanding attention. Marlboro! Honda! Calvin! Pictures! (“Money doesn’t talk, it screams,” says Bob Dylan.) Max Regenberg gave them presence, but not voice. He made the familiar strange, but differently from Prince.

In the Age of Pop painters contended with commerce. Artist/photographers eventually made works that opposed or at least differed from commerce’s highly paid photographers, art directors, make-up people, stylists, and assistants, all of whom participated in the “making of” pseudo-events. For any artist/photographer, however, the recognition of a subject and the shooting of a single photograph had to be integrated into a statement about a state of consciousness, which held commerce in mind. The artifice and the realism conveyed by Max Regenberg’s photographs subsume the artifice of billboards and their pseudo-reality as markers of the urban-suburban landscape. His photographs stilled their visual noise.

Thirty years later the wires, cables, and rolls of film of the recent past have given way to microwave towers, light-emitting screens, and digital processing. Viewing photographs on touch screens reduces them to a technological sameness. Max Regenberg made photographs to be viewed on paper, framed for walls, reprocessed for books, and maybe potentially magazines, one preceding the other. Their quality resides in the time and place that they examined and in the objecthood of the photographs themselves — the pictorial materiality in the picture, to be seen and talked about, remembered and preserved

In the Picture

Max Regenberg : 1978-1985

Au lycée, déjà, Max Regenberg étudiait avec des professionnels, s'initiant aux objectifs, ouvertures, diaphragmes géométriques, développeurs, lumières – l'ADN de la réaction photochimique : comment le reconnaître et le capturer, comment mettre en lumière et prendre des photos pour des magazines et des publicités, avec notamment le « packshot », les natures mortes de l'univers publicitaire : boîtes de céréales, flacons de parfum, rasoirs électriques, savons, hamburgers, etc. Tout cela nécessite des techniques de prise et de développement, une maîtrise des détails, de toute la gamme des effets d'un tirage qui peut exiger différentes expositions. Regenberg a étudié la photographie à une époque marquée par une évolution à la fois technologique, commerciale et sociale. Malgré cela, guidé sans doute par une curiosité mêlée d'angoisse, il voyait des publicités partout, prenant conscience qu'elle saturait l'environnement et l'esprit des gens, s'accaparant le moyen d'expression qu'il avait choisi, comme pour l'usurper.

Les images commerciales triomphaient, à la fois succube et incube, séductrices et corruptrices, dans les magazines, les films, à la télévision, et dans les rues, simultanément serpent et charmeur de serpent, elles étaient toujours au service d'un message bien particulier. Max Regenberg – issu de la génération du baby-boom, enfant de la télévision, postmoderniste par la force des choses, membre d'un courant qui allait transformer la photographie en art – a donc réagi. À la fin des années 1970, il photographie, entre autres choses, les panneaux d'affichage découverts au fil de ses voyages en Allemagne, en France, au Canada et aux États-Unis. Ces panneaux sont les mêmes partout, ils portent des textes en différentes langues mais les symboles et signes qu'ils affichent relèvent de la même algèbre photographique. Il en dresse un inventaire soigné, à la façon d'un anthropologue ou d'un exilé, à travers de saisissantes photographies en noir et blanc.

Ces panneaux fonctionnent comme des graffitis jouissant d'une autorisation publique – une impressionnante signalisation fabriquée en série, financée par des fonds privés, qui, pour beaucoup, souille l'espace de location qu'elle occupe. Le message du panneau doit sauter aux yeux, qu'il s'incarne dans une image ou dans un slogan, soigneusement conçus et mis en avant pour attirer l'attention sur un produit sans pour autant préciser les potentialités réelles de ce produit, qui revêt une apparence réaliste uniquement grâce à la définition contrôlée de particularités choisies – le goût mentholé d'un filtre Kool, la résistance d'une Volvo dans une simulation d'accident, la douceur d'un savon, la coupe du dernier jean de telle ou telle marque. Dans The Image, Daniel Boorstin traite les demi-vérités finement ciselées et les expériences fabriquées de la publicité comme des « pseudo-événements ». Max Regenberg perçoit ces panneaux comme l'emblème des pseudo-vérités commerciales mais aussi comme les œuvres d'art conceptuel de l'univers commercial – des créations conçues pour s'infiltrer dans l'esprit des gens et, contrairement à l'art, dans leurs poches.

Max Regenberg n'essaye pas d'être critique, il veut capturer, sur pellicule, ce parrainage public, propre à une époque, des voitures, cigarettes, photocopieuses, jeans de marque (Brooke Shields pour Calvin Klein), lingeries (la fameuse marque autrichienne Palmer). Il photographie des publicités pour la solidarité polonaise, une moto Honda, un appareil photo AGFA, les pellicules Fuji, des publicités qui évoquent des tableaux de Roy Lichtenstein et David Hockney, un panneau posant la question : Who Puts You in the Picture ? C'est la question esquissée dans ses photographies. 

Un grand nombre de ces affiches promeuvent les cigarettes Marlboro, une marque alors en pleine expansion, dont les cow-boys sont à la même époque rassemblés en une collection de diapositives par l'artiste new-yorkais Richard Prince. Prince modifie les publicités en rognant le texte dans son viseur afin de se concentrer sur l'image, un cow-boy fumant une cigarette à filtre (évoquant jusque là plutôt une femme qu'un cow-boy viril). Prince modifie le contexte de cette publicité afin de « rendre étrange ce qui est familier », comme pour ajouter des guillemets au message, comme pour attirer l'attention sur la réalité douteuse projetée par cette publicité. Ce n'est pas nécessairement le cas, la priorité étant donnée à l'ironie.

Les images de Max Regenberg dépeignent un monde changé par le commerce, un monde dont le lointain passé était présenté dans des émissions télé comme Robin des bois et Zorro, ponctuées de publicités qui s'efforçaient d'amener les gens à penser aux produits contemporains. Ses images dégagent une étrangeté propre à cette époque, que l'on ne retrouve pas dans « filles regardant dans la même direction », « mains avec montres » ou « cow-boys » de Prince. Regenberg photographie des panneaux publicitaires qui poussent comme des mauvaises herbes dans le paysage public du capitalisme de marché, un environnement qui, en moins d'un siècle, a été complètement transformé par la voiture. Ce paysage public est le deuxième élément récurrent dans ses photographies.

Les voitures ont créé des routes, qui ont donné sens et orientation aux cartes, aux trottoirs, à la plomberie, à l'électricité, qui ont poussé les gens vers les banlieues, incluant des « périphéries urbaines » caractérisées par une architecture médiocre, des zones industrielles, des concessionnaires automobiles, des centres commerciaux, des chaînes de fast-food, des magasins d'électroménager, et des panneaux publicitaires – le va-et-vient du triomphe du commerce sur la nature. La photographie est alors le moyen d'expression de ce triomphe. Regenberg photographie sa signalétique.

En 1975, une exposition collective avant-gardiste qui mettra un certain temps avant d'être reconnue comme telle, intitulée The New Topographics : Photographs of a Man-Altered Landscape, est présentée à la maison George Eastman (le fondateur de Kodak), à New York. Parmi les photographes exposés, Robert Adams, Lewis Baltz, Bernd et Hilla Becher, Nicholas Nixon et Steven Shore. À l'exception des œuvres de ce dernier, toutes les photographies sont en noir et blanc. Le choix des photographes vise à prouver les effets de l'exode urbain à travers l'Occident. L'accueil n'est guère enthousiaste, ces photographies d'un paysage colonisé par l'homme sont jugées banales par un public qui est extrêmement habitué à de telles images et qui échoue à percevoir leur véritable valeur dans ce temple de la photographie.

Deux ans plus tard, en septembre 1977, à peu près au moment où Max Regenberg commence à faire ces photographies, une exposition aujourd'hui célèbre, Pictures,est présentée dans une galerie de New York appelée Artists Space, dont la directrice, Helen Winer, deviendra, au début des années 1980, copropriétaire de la galerie Metro Pictures. Cinq artistes sont exposés : Troy Brauntauch, Jack Goldstein, Sherrie Levine, Robert Longo et Philip Smith. Dans le catalogue de cette exposition, Douglas Crimp évoque un art qui reflète un monde dans lequel « l'expérience est dominée par les images », paradoxalement « présentes et lointaines » et, parce qu'elles sont partout, mais commerciales, comment « l'expérience directe semble battre en retraite, paraissant toujours plus insignifiante ». L'exposition Pictures n'attire pas beaucoup l'attention cette année-là. Mais elle sera par la suite perçue comme le signe d'une croissance de la photographie d'art et comme une rupture dans la photographie traditionnelle, ces artistes et beaucoup d'autres commençant à exposer des œuvres d'art photographiques, plaçant ainsi la photographie sur le même plan que la peinture et la sculpture.

Ces artistes, contrairement aux photographes de New Topographics, « utilisent » des photographies et des représentations photographiques, parfois de simples copies d'images trouvées dans un magazine. Des labos professionnels développent leur travail. Sherrie Levine signe des copies exactes de photographies de Walker Evans, Cindy Sherman réalise des clichés de films factices dont elle est la star, Richard Prince photographie des publicités de magazine. Ils font évoluer l'art en incorporant la photographie à un univers artistique contemporain qui repose, commercialement et financièrement, sur la peinture et la sculpture, bien que l'art conceptuel joue un rôle important dans sa démarche intellectuelle. Ces artistes font ainsi passer la photographie au premier plan. C'est une réelle nouveauté. Personne n'en a conscience en 1978. (Leo Castelli expose Lewis Baltz dans une galerie annexe, Castelli Graphics, qui a ouvert en 1969 et dans laquelle il présente des œuvres reproductibles, auxquelles la photographie est purement et simplement assimilée.) Mais cette génération d'artistes, parmi lesquels Max Regenberg, incarne une véritable évolution, d'une représentation fait main à un art basé sur la technologie. (Le Métropolitain a présenté, en 2009, une exposition intitulée Pictures Generation : 1974-1984, rassemblant Prince, Cindy Sherman, Matt Mullican et bien d'autres. 

Regenberg a assisté à cette évolution et l'a rendue visible dans l'éclat de ses photographies en noir et blanc. À l'époque, personne n'attribue à de telles images le même statut que la peinture. Pourtant ces œuvres témoignent bien de la confusion entretenue entre artifice et réalisme dans la vie, dans la publicité, dans l'art. Ce qui est exactement ce que les artistes « de l'image » ont révélé, directement ou indirectement.

Dans les images de Regenberg, un type de représentation – les panneaux publicitaires – apparaît comme un sous-ensemble de la photographie. La question du statut de ces panneaux n'est pas posée, mais ils sont présentés comme un emblème de la réalité urbaine, un élément irritant, mais accepté, de la communication publique, financée par des fonds privés, du marché économique. Si les panneaux pouvaient parler, ils crieraient comme des vendeurs de rue, forçant l'attention. Marlboro ! Honda ! Calvin ! Pictures ! (« L'argent ne parle pas, il crie », dit Bob Dylan.) Regenberg leur donne une présence, mais pas une voix. Il rend étrange ce qui familier, différemment de Prince.

À l'ère Pop, les peintres affrontaient le commerce. Ces artistes-photographes réalisent des œuvres qui s'opposent au ou du moins se démarquent du travail des photographes extrêmement bien payés, des directeurs artistiques, des maquilleurs, des stylistes et autres assistants de l'univers commercial, qui contribuent tous au « making of » de pseudo-événements. Pour tout artiste-photographe, l'identification d'un sujet et la prise d'une photographie doivent s'inscrire dans l'affirmation d'un positionnement par rapport à l'univers commercial. L'artifice et le réalisme portés par les photographies de Max Regenberg font de l'artifice et de la pseudo-réalité de ces panneaux des marqueurs du paysage urbain et suburbain. Ses photographies font taire leur brouhaha visuel.

Trente ans plus tard, les câbles, fils électriques et rouleaux de pellicule ont cédé la place à des tours à hyperfréquence, à des écrans émettant de la lumière, au traitement numérique. Sur un écran tactile, les photographies sont réduites à une uniformité technologique. Les photographies de Regenberg sont faites pour être vues sur papier, encadrées et accrochées au mur, reproduites dans des ouvrages, et peut-être dans des magazines, dans cet ordre. Leur valeur est liée au temps et au lieu qu'elles documentent et à leur qualité d'objet – la matérialité de l'image, à voir, à discuter, à retenir et à préserver.