Fondation A Stichting

Mitch Epstein

New York Arbor

from 21 April to 30 June 2013
© Black River Production Ltd, Courtesy Galerie Thomas Zander, Cologne
Mitch Epstein, Tulip Tree, Alley Pond Park, Queens II, 2011
© Black River Production Ltd, Courtesy Galerie Thomas Zander, Cologne

After having traversed the territory of the United States for five years while working on American Power – in his quest to shed light on the interaction between energy production and consumption, between industrial corporatism and its devastating consequences on the environment – Mitch Epstein decided to use his city, New York, to compose a black-and-white ode to nature. The trees he has photographed, whether having unfurled wildly or grown carefully pruned, are a living memory of the city of New York, the testimony to the symbiotic relation linking the city’s inhabitants with their trees. In the manner of Eugène Atget, who photographed the trees of Paris at the beginning of the 20th century, Mitch Epstein’s photographs individualize the vegetal element, underlining its exceptional character. A good number of these trees, which stand majestically today, came to New York as souvenirs or diplomatic gifts. Despite the urban development that has been slowly encroaching on them, they keep growing. New York, a welcoming but harsh city, is characterized by very great diversity of its population with immigrant backgrounds. These portraits of trees are thus simultaneously metaphors and monuments. Featuring in the foreground, these extracts of the city’s setting are inscribed in the photographs as actors of urban life – New York, city of trees. ‘The more I photographed trees in the city, the more I saw the city as an arbor; society and architecture became secondary to nature. I began to invert the usual human-centric view of urban space, so that trees became the city’s central characters’. (Mitch Epstein).

In the text accompanying his images, Epstein refers notably to Hungarian writer and photographer, Péter Nádas. After a brush with death following a cardiac arrest, Nádas wrote Own Death, which he illustrated with photographs he took of the hundred-year old pear tree in his garden as it passed through the rhythm of the seasons. Then, in 2005, Robert Adams published Turning Back, a book of photography that tolls the requiem of ecocide resulting from the deforestation of the United States’ North West. New York Arbor, then, is Mitch Epstein’s attempt at a vigorous reply both to American Power and to the work by Robert Adams. Inspired by Nádas’ work, interpellated by the sadness and beauty apparent in Adams’ images, Mitch Epstein’s New York Arbor composes a veritable ode to passing time, an ode to life.

The exhibition has been organized in cooperation with the Galerie Thomas Zander in Cologne. It comprises a series of 42 black-and-white photographs that are presented here for the first time by Fondation A Stichting and has been timed to coincide with the publication of Mitch Epstein’s New York Arbor by Steidl publishers.

© Black River Production Ltd, Courtesy Galerie Thomas Zander, Cologne
Mitch Epstein, American Elm, Central Park, New York, 2012
© Black River Production Ltd, Courtesy Galerie Thomas Zander, Cologne
© Black River Production Ltd, Courtesy Galerie Thomas Zander, Cologne
Mitch Epstein, American Elm, Eastern Parkway, Brooklyn, 2012
© Black River Production Ltd, Courtesy Galerie Thomas Zander, Cologne
© Black River Production Ltd, Courtesy Galerie Thomas Zander, Cologne
Mitch Epstein, Caucasian Wingnut, Brooklyn Botanic Garden II, 2011
© Black River Production Ltd, Courtesy Galerie Thomas Zander, Cologne
© Black River Production Ltd, Courtesy Galerie Thomas Zander, Cologne
Mitch Epstein, Silver Linden, Prospect Park, Brooklyn, 2011
© Black River Production Ltd, Courtesy Galerie Thomas Zander, Cologne
Mitch Epstein on New York Arbor

Fondation A Stichting

Mitch Epstein

New York Arbor

du 21 avril au 30 juin 2013
© Black River Production Ltd, Courtesy Galerie Thomas Zander, Cologne
Mitch Epstein, Tulip Tree, Alley Pond Park, Queens II, 2011
© Black River Production Ltd, Courtesy Galerie Thomas Zander, Cologne

Après avoir, cinq années durant, arpenté le territoire des Etats-Unis avec son projet American Power, éclairant l’interaction qui existe entre la production et la consommation d’énergie, entre le corporatisme industriel et ses conséquences dévastatrices sur l’environnement, Mitch Epstein choisit sa ville pour une ode en noir et blanc à la nature. Les grands arbres photographiés par l’artiste, qu’ils se déploient sauvagement ou croissent, taillés avec précaution, sont une mémoire vivante de la ville de New York, le témoignage de la relation symbiotique qui lie les habitants de cette ville à leurs arbres. A l’instar d’Eugène Atget qui, au début du 20e siècle, photographiait les arbres de Paris, Mitch Epstein individualise l’élément végétal, soulignant son caractère exceptionnel. Bon nombre de ces arbres, aujourd’hui majestueux, sont arrivés à New York en tant que souvenirs ou cadeaux diplomatiques. Malgré la progression urbaine qui s’est lentement refermée sur eux, ils demeurent florissants. New York, ville accueillante mais rude est caractérisée par sa très grande diversité de population issue de l’immigration. Ces portraits d’arbres sont à la fois métaphores et monuments. Figurant à l’avant-plan, extraits du décor de la cité, les arbres photographiés s’inscrivent comme acteurs de la vie urbaine, New York, ville d’arbres. « À force de photographier les arbres de la ville, je me suis mis à considérer la ville comme une forêt, la société et l'architecture étaient peu à peu éclipsées par la nature. J'ai développé une perception différente de l'espace urbain, habituellement saisi comme articulé autour de l'humain, et les arbres sont devenus les personnages principaux de la ville.» (Mitch Epstein).

Dans le texte qui accompagne ses images, Epstein fait notamment référence à l’écrivain et photographe hongrois Péter Nádas. Ayant frôlé la mort suite à un accident cardiaque, Péter Nádas a photographié dans son jardin, au rythme des saisons, le même poirier centenaire pour illustrer son récit, La Mort Seul à Seul. En 2005 paraît Turning Back, un livre de photographies réalisées par Robert Adams et qui sonne tel un requiem, témoignant de l’écocide que constitue la déforestation du territoire du Nord-Ouest des Etats-Unis. Avec New York Arbor Mitch Epstein tente simultanément d'apporter une réponse vivante à Turning Back et à son précédent projet, American Power. Inspiré par le travail de Nádas, interpellé par les images d’Adams où se lisent tristesse et beauté, Mitch Epstein compose avec New York Arbor une véritable ode au temps qui passe, une ode à la vie.

L’exposition a été organisée en collaboration avec la Galerie Thomas Zander de Cologne. La Fondation A Stichting présente pour la première fois l’ensemble des 42 photographies en noir et blanc. Cette exposition, coïncide avec la parution aux éditions Steidl du livre New York Arbor de Mitch Epstein.

© Black River Production Ltd, Courtesy Galerie Thomas Zander, Cologne
Mitch Epstein, American Elm, Central Park, New York, 2012
© Black River Production Ltd, Courtesy Galerie Thomas Zander, Cologne
© Black River Production Ltd, Courtesy Galerie Thomas Zander, Cologne
Mitch Epstein, American Elm, Eastern Parkway, Brooklyn, 2012
© Black River Production Ltd, Courtesy Galerie Thomas Zander, Cologne
© Black River Production Ltd, Courtesy Galerie Thomas Zander, Cologne
Mitch Epstein, Caucasian Wingnut, Brooklyn Botanic Garden II, 2011
© Black River Production Ltd, Courtesy Galerie Thomas Zander, Cologne
© Black River Production Ltd, Courtesy Galerie Thomas Zander, Cologne
Mitch Epstein, Silver Linden, Prospect Park, Brooklyn, 2011
© Black River Production Ltd, Courtesy Galerie Thomas Zander, Cologne
Mitch Epstein sur New York Arbor