Fondation A Stichting

Bernd & Hilla Becher

Imprimés 1964 – 2013

from 6 October to 15 December 2013

Bernd & Hilla Becher (1931-2007/ *1934) range among the most influential artists of our era. The 1960s in north Europe saw the end of the reign of coal and iron. Steel factories and mines were closed down one after the other. At issue was the radical mutation of a world, of a society, and of a landscape. In 1959 Bernd and Hilla Becher began an impressive photographic adventure, the object of which was this industrial patrimony threatened with extinction. They then started what would become one of the largest industrial archives of our era. “When I arrived in Düsseldorf in the 1950s,” says Hilla Becher in an interview, “I was always very moved when looking out of the window of the train and watching the procession of these numerous and strange creatures.” Water towers, blast furnaces, grain elevators, winding towers, cooling towers, gastanks… all objects they photographed with great rigor and according to an unchanging protocol which would become the Bechers’ signature. They photographed the objects from a distance, exclusively in black and white. The photographed object is generally centered and frontally framed. Shadowless, it cuts a profile against a cloudless sky. No effect or reflection appears. Nobody.

The Bechers photographed these industrial installations after they had come to a standstill. Barely photographed, some of these constructions were then dismantled and disappeared forever. Today some of these factories or structures still stand in the landscape as museums or monuments. Similar to entomologists, the Bechers have grouped their images together and classified them according to the object’s family or sub-family, thus creating typologies. Other objects they have photographed from all sides in order to underline, via the progression of images, the sculptural aspect of a same and unique object. Lastly, some sites they studied in a more systematic manner, in which case the artists’ camera indeed explores the entirety of the industrial site, as in the impressive series Zeche Zollern 2, published in 1977 and presented at the Fondation A Stichting for the occasion of this exhibition.

The exhibition Bernd & Hilla Becher – Imprimés 1964-2013 is a first. Not only does it present photographs but it is also interested in highlighting the image that the Bechers wish to give of their œuvre, i.e., the representation that they make of it on the basis of printed matter (books, catalogues, limited editions, brochures, invitation cards, posters). The exhibition enables us to understand the various stages of their approach, their transition from a sole photograph to images presented in series. Their typological construction, which was perfectly legible in the first publications, reviews and catalogues, would become less so in the later thematic monographs, in which only a single image is reproduced, page after page.

The exhibition has been organized in cooperation with the Photographische Sammlung/SK Stiftung Kultur, the Galerie Thomas Zander of Cologne, and the Goethe-Institut in Brussels, the exhibition of the Fondation A Stichting coincides with another, Bernd et Hilla Becher, Hochofenwerke, presented at the Photographische Sammlung/SK Stiftung Kultur from 20 September 2013 to 26 January 2014.

An exhibition of the Musée de l'Elysée of Lausanne.

Curators: Antoine de Beaupré and Jean-Christophe Blaser for the Musée de l’Elysée.

Editions Michelpresse, Düsseldorf, janvier 1969
Bernd und Hilla Becher, Kunst Zeitung N°2 Anonyme Skulpturen
Editions Michelpresse, Düsseldorf, janvier 1969
© Hilla Becher, 2013
Bernd und Hilla Becher, Zeche Zollern 2, Dortmund-Bövinghausen, D 1971 Magazingebäude, Nordgiebel
© Hilla Becher, 2013
© Hilla Becher, 2013
Bernd and Hilla Becher, Zeche Zollern 2, Dortmund-Bövinghausen, D 1971 Westliche Fördermaschine (1907), sichtbare Treibscheibe und Antriebsmotor
© Hilla Becher, 2013
© Hilla Becher, 2013
Bernd und Hilla Becher, Zeche Zollern 2, Dortmund-Bövinghausen, D 1971 Maschinenhalle, Totalansicht von Westen, links Fördergerüst, rechts Kesselhaus
© Hilla Becher, 2013
Die Fotografen Bernd und Hilla Becher (excerpt)

Fondation A Stichting

Bernd & Hilla Becher

Imprimés 1964 – 2013

du 6 octobre au 15 décembre 2013
Bernd und Hilla Becher, Anonyme Skulpturen Edition, Art-Press Verlag Düsseldorf, Allemagne, 1970

Bernd & Hilla Becher (1931-2007 / *1934) figurent parmi les artistes les plus influents de notre époque. En Europe du nord dans les années 60, on assiste à la fin du règne du charbon et du fer. Les aciéries et les mines ferment les unes après les autres. Il s’agit d’une mutation radicale, celle d’un monde, d’une société, d’un paysage. À partir de 1959, Bernd et Hilla Becher se lancent dans une impressionnante aventure  photographique ayant pour objet ce patrimoine industriel menacé de disparition. Ils entament alors ce qui va devenir l'une des plus vastes archives industrielles de notre époque. « Quand je suis arrivé à Düsseldorf dans les années 50 », raconte Hilla Becher dans une interview, « j’étais toujours très émue de regarder défiler par la fenêtre du train ces nombreuses et étranges créatures. » Châteaux d'eau, hauts-fourneaux, silos à charbon, chevalements, tours de réfrigération, gazomètres… sont photographiés avec grande rigueur et selon un protocole immuable qui deviendra la signature des Becher. Avec distance, l’objet est photographié exclusivement en noir et blanc. Il est généralement centré et cadré frontalement. Sans ombre, il se découpe sur un ciel sans nuages. Il n’y a ni effet ni reflet. Personne.

Les Becher photographient ces installations industrielles à l’arrêt. À peine photographiées, certaines de ces constructions sont démantelées pour disparaître à jamais. Quelques-unes de ces usines ou de ces structures demeurent aujourd’hui dans le paysage en tant que musées ou monuments. A la manière des entomologistes, les Becher regroupent leurs images, les unes à côté des autres, les classent par famille ou sous-famille d’objets et forment ainsi des typologiesD’autres objets sont photographiés sous toutes leurs faces soulignant par leur développement, l’aspect sculptural d’un même et unique objet. Enfin, certains sites font l’objet d’une étude plus systématique. Dans ce cas, c’est l’entièreté du site industriel qui sera véritablement exploré par la caméra des deux artistes, tel l’impressionnante série Zeche Zollern 2, publiée en 1977 et présentée à la Fondation A Stichting à l’occasion de cette exposition.

L’exposition Bernd & Hilla Becher – Imprimés 1964-2013 est une première. Elle ne présente pas uniquement des photographies mais s’intéresse à mettre en évidence l’image que les Becher ont voulu donner de leur œuvre, la représentation qu’ils se faisaient d’elle à partir des documents imprimés (livres, catalogues, éditions limitées, brochures, cartons d’invitation, affiches). L'exposition permet de comprendre les différentes étapes de leur démarche, le passage d'une photographie unique aux images présentées en série. La construction typologique parfaitement lisible dès les premières publications, revues et catalogues, le sera moins par la suite dans les monographies thématiques qui ne reproduiront qu'une seule image, page après page.

Organisée avec le soutien de la Photographische Sammlung/SK Stiftung Kultur et de la Galerie Thomas Zander de Cologne, du Goethe-Institut de Bruxelles, l’exposition de la Fondation A Stichting coïncide avec l‘exposition Bernd et Hilla Becher, Hochofenwerke organisée à la Photographische Sammlung/SK Stiftung Kultur, du 20 septembre 2013 au 26 janvier 2014.

Une exposition du Musée de l'Elysée de Lausanne.

Commissaires : Antoine de Beaupré et Jean-Christophe Blaser pour le Musée de l’Elysée.

Editions Michelpresse, Düsseldorf, janvier 1969
Bernd und Hilla Becher, Kunst Zeitung N°2 Anonyme
Editions Michelpresse, Düsseldorf, janvier 1969
© Hilla Becher, 2013
Bernd und Hilla Becher, Zeche Zollern 2, Dortmund-Bövinghausen, D 1971 Magazingebäude, Nordgiebel
© Hilla Becher, 2013
© Hilla Becher, 2013
Bernd and Hilla Becher, Zeche Zollern 2, Dortmund-Bövinghausen, D 1971 Westliche Fördermaschine (1907), sichtbare Treibscheibe und Antriebsmotor
© Hilla Becher, 2013
© Hilla Becher, 2013
Bernd und Hilla Becher, Zeche Zollern 2, Dortmund-Bövinghausen, D 1971 Maschinenhalle, Totalansicht von Westen, links Fördergerüst, rechts Kesselhaus
© Hilla Becher, 2013
Die Fotografen Bernd und Hilla Becher (extrait)