Fondation A Stichting

Robert Adams

A Right to Stand

from 28 January to 18 March 2018
© Robert Adams, Courtesy Fraenkel Gallery, San Francisco and Matthew Marks Gallery, New York
Commerce City, Colorado, 1981
© Robert Adams, Courtesy Fraenkel Gallery, San Francisco and Matthew Marks Gallery, New York

‘They seem to rejoice and they seem to suffer. But they also seem to know a stillness that we can’t experience, at least not for long (Robert Adams). The exhibition A Right to Stand begins with a set of photographs taken in Colorado and published in 1994 as Cottonwoods. A species revered by some American Indian tribes who believed the stars originated in the cottonwood, in low demand by the agricultural industry due to its poor commercial value and need for abundant water, however the cottonwood tree is for Robert Adams so close to us.

Robert Adams was born in 1937 in Orange, New Jersey. He lived in Colorado for a long time before moving even further west to Oregon. His interest in literature and large stretches of wilderness pushed him to definitively adopt photography at the end of the 1960s. His photographic work, that since then has demonstrated both the essential role of nature in our existence as well as the part we have played in altering it, has been widely published and exhibited.

The exhibition mainly comprises photographs from the series Our Lives and Our Children, Photographs Taken Near The Rocky Flats Nuclear Weapons Plant published by Aperture in 1983 and a second book, No Small JourneysAcross Shopping Center Parking Lots, Down City Streets published by Matthew Marks Gallery in 2003. These images were all taken in and around Denver, between 1979 and 1982, in a reaction to the nearby factory producing plutonium detonators used for nuclear and thermonuclear weapons. The standpoint here is aligned more closely with that of a child, the camera is concealed and the images cropped. A small spark of spontaneity emanates from these tender and animated photographic portraits, counterbalancing our fear of a potential and unspeakable catastrophe. How do we cope with what frightens us? These photographic images by Robert Adams help us, fuelling our resistance and resilience.

Thanks to support of Fraenkel Gallery in San Francisco and Matthew Marks Gallery in New York.
Exhibition curators: Joshua Chuang, Jean-Paul Deridder. 

For this exhibition the Fondation A Stichting has partnered with Hartmann Books to publish Robert Adams, Hope is a risk that must be run.

© Robert Adams, Courtesy Fraenkel Gallery, San Francisco and Matthew Marks Gallery, New York
Cottonwood, Longmont, Colorado, 1973-75
© Robert Adams, Courtesy Fraenkel Gallery, San Francisco and Matthew Marks Gallery, New York
© Robert Adams, Courtesy Fraenkel Gallery, San Francisco and Matthew Marks Gallery, New York
An irrigation canal, Larimer County, Colorado, 1994
© Robert Adams, Courtesy Fraenkel Gallery, San Francisco and Matthew Marks Gallery, New York
© Robert Adams, Courtesy Fraenkel Gallery, San Francisco and Matthew Marks Gallery, New York
Untitled, Our Lives and Our Children, Colorado, 1979-1982,
© Robert Adams, Courtesy Fraenkel Gallery, San Francisco and Matthew Marks Gallery, New York
© Robert Adams, Courtesy Fraenkel Gallery, San Francisco and Matthew Marks Gallery, New York
Untitled, Our Lives and Our Children, Colorado, 1979-1982
© Robert Adams, Courtesy Fraenkel Gallery, San Francisco and Matthew Marks Gallery, New York
© Robert Adams, Courtesy Fraenkel Gallery, San Francisco and Matthew Marks Gallery, New York
Untitled, Our Lives and Our Children, Colorado, 1979-1982
© Robert Adams, Courtesy Fraenkel Gallery, San Francisco and Matthew Marks Gallery, New York

Fondation A Stichting

Robert Adams

A Right to Stand

du 28 janvier au 18 mars 2018
© Robert Adams, Courtesy Fraenkel Gallery, San Francisco and Matthew Marks Gallery, New York
Commerce City, Colorado, 1981
© Robert Adams, Courtesy Fraenkel Gallery, San Francisco and Matthew Marks Gallery, New York

« Ils semblent parfois se réjouir, et parfois souffrir, mais on dirait qu’ils connaissent un calme qui nous est inaccessible, du moins sur une longue durée » (Robert Adams). L’exposition A Right to Stand débute avec un ensemble de photographies prises au Colorado et publié en 1994 sous le titre, Cottonwoods. Essence vénérée par certaines tribus d’Indiens d’Amérique qui y voient l’origine des étoiles, dépréciée par l’agro-industrie pour sa faible valeur commerciale et pour sa soif insatiable, le Cottonwood est cependant pour Robert Adams si proche de nous. 

Né en 1937 à Orange dans le New Jersey, Robert Adams a longtemps vécu au Colorado avant de s’installer, toujours plus à l’ouest, en Oregon. Son intérêt pour la littérature et les vastes étendues sauvages le pousse à adopter définitivement la photographie dès la fin des années 60. Depuis lors, son œuvre photographique qui témoigne tant de la place essentielle de la nature dans notre existence que de notre responsabilité dans son altération, a fait l’objet d’innombrables publications et expositions.

L’exposition rassemble principalement des photographies du projet Our Lives and Our Children, Photographs Taken Near The Rocky Flats Nuclear Weapons Plant, publié par Aperture en 1983 et d’un second livre, No Small JourneysAcross Shopping Center Parking Lots, Down City Streets publiépar la Matthew Marks Gallery en 2003. Ces images ont toutes été prises à Denver et dans ses environs, entre 1979 et 1982, en réaction à la présence toute proche d’une fabrique de détonateurs au plutonium utilisés pour l’armement nucléaire et thermonucléaire. Le point de vue s’est ici rapproché de celui de l’enfant, la caméra est dissimulée, les images recadrées. Une petite étincelle de spontanéité se dégage de ces portraits photographiques, tendres et animés, qui viennent contrebalancer l’angoisse d’une catastrophe potentielle et innommable… Que faire de ce qui nous effraie ? Les images photographiques de Robert Adams sont de celles qui nous accompagnent, nourrissent notre force de résistance et notre capacité de résilience.

Avec le soutien de la Fraenkel Gallery de San Francisco et de la Matthew Marks Gallery de New York.
Commissaires de l’exposition : Joshua Chuang, Jean-Paul Deridder. 

La Fondation A Stichting, à l’occasion de cette exposition, s‘est associée aux éditions Hartmann Books pour publier Robert Adams, Hope is a risk that must be run.

© Robert Adams, Courtesy Fraenkel Gallery, San Francisco and Matthew Marks Gallery, New York
Cottonwood, Longmont, Colorado, 1973-75
© Robert Adams, Courtesy Fraenkel Gallery, San Francisco and Matthew Marks Gallery, New York
© Robert Adams, Courtesy Fraenkel Gallery, San Francisco and Matthew Marks Gallery, New York
An irrigation canal, Larimer County, Colorado, 1994
© Robert Adams, Courtesy Fraenkel Gallery, San Francisco and Matthew Marks Gallery, New York
© Robert Adams, Courtesy Fraenkel Gallery, San Francisco and Matthew Marks Gallery, New York
Untitled, Our lives and Our Children, Colorado, 1979-1982
© Robert Adams, Courtesy Fraenkel Gallery, San Francisco and Matthew Marks Gallery, New York
© Robert Adams, Courtesy Fraenkel Gallery, San Francisco and Matthew Marks Gallery, New York
Untitled, Our lives and Our Children, Colorado, 1979-1982
© Robert Adams, Courtesy Fraenkel Gallery, San Francisco and Matthew Marks Gallery, New York
© Robert Adams, Courtesy Fraenkel Gallery, San Francisco and Matthew Marks Gallery, New York
Untitled, Our lives and Our Children, Colorado, 1979-1982
© Robert Adams, Courtesy Fraenkel Gallery, San Francisco and Matthew Marks Gallery, New York